Bard College Academic Calendar

2007 2008

 

Summer 2007

 

 

Saturday, August 11

      First-Year Students Arrive

      Financial Clearance

 

 

Sunday, August 12

      First-Year Student Orientation

      First-Year Student Survey

 

 

Monday, August 13 Friday, Aug 31

      Workshops in Language and Thinking

 

Fall 2007

Thursday, August 30

 

      Matriculation Ceremony

 

 

Friday, August 31

 

      New Faculty Orientation

      Transfer Students Arrive

      Financial Clearance for Transfer Students (2:00 PM - 4:00 PM)

 

 

Friday, August 31-Sunday, Sept 2

      Academic Orientation and Writing Workshop for Transfer Students

 

 

Sunday, September 2

Financial Clearance

      Arrival Day for all Returning Students

      Financial Clearance for Students Returning from a Leave of Absence (9:00 AM - 10:00 AM)

      Financial Clearance for all other Returning Students (10:30 AM - 4:00 PM)

 

Monday, September 3

Advising & Registration

 

      Advising and Course Consultation in Faculty Offices (9:00 AM - 12:00 noon)

      Registration for First-Year & Transfer Students, and those returning from a Leave of Absence (1:30 PM - 3:30 PM)

      Registration for Returning Students who did not register in May (2:30 PM - 3:30 PM)

 

 

Tuesday, September 4

      First Day of Classes

 

 

Wednesday, September 5

      First Faculty Meeting of the Semester

 

 

Wednesday, September 19

      Drop/Add period ends (5:00 PM)

 

Monday, Oct 8 - Tuesday, Oct 9

      Fall Break

 

Friday, October 26

      Mid-Term Grades and Criteria Sheets due

 

 

Friday, October 26- Sunday Oct 28

      Parents and Family Weekend

 

 

Friday, November 2

      Moderation Papers due

 

 

Friday, November 9

      Last Day to Withdraw from a Class

 

 

Wednesday, November 21 (4 pm)

- Sunday, November 25

      Thanksgiving Recess

 

 

 

Monday, December 3

      Senior Projects due in the Office of the Dean of the College (5:00 P.M.)

 

 

Wednesday, Dec 12

      Advising & Registration for Spring 2008

 

 

Wednesday, December 19

      Final Faculty Meeting of the Semester

 

 

Friday, December 21

      Last Day of Classes

 

Intersession

 

 

 

 

Saturday, Dec 22

Friday, January 25

      Winter Intersession

 

 

Wednesday, Jan 2

      Final Grades and Criteria Sheets due

 

 

 

Spring 2008

 

 

 

 

Friday, January 25

 

      New First-Year and Transfer Students Arrive

      Financial Clearance for New First-Year and Transfer Students (2:00-4:00 PM)

 

 

Friday, January 25-

Monday, January 28

      Academic Orientation and Writing Workshop for New First-Year & Transfer Students

 

 

Saturday, January 26

      Optional Arrival Day for all Returning Students

 

 

Sunday, January 27

Financial Clearance

      Financial Clearance for Students Returning from a Leave of Absence (9:00 AM - 10:00 AM)

      Financial Clearance for all other Returning Students (10:30 AM - 4:00 PM)

 

 

Monday, January 28

Advising & Registration

in Faculty Offices

      Advising Appointments for New Students and Course Consultation for all Students in Faculty Offices (11:00 AM - 12:00 noon)

      Registration for New First-Year and Transfer Students, and those returning from a Leave of Absence (1:30 PM - 2:30 PM)

      Registration for returning students who did not pre-register in December (2:30 PM - 3:30 PM)

 

 

Tuesday, January 29

      First Day of Classes

 

 

Wednesday, January 30

      First Faculty Meeting of the Semester

 

 

Wednesday, February 13

      Drop/Add Period Ends (5:00 PM)

 

 

Friday, March 28

      Mid-Term Grades and Criteria Sheets due

      Moderation Papers due

 

 

Saturday, March 29- Sunday, April 6

      Spring Recess

 

 

Friday, April 11

      Last Day to Withdraw from a Class

 

 

Wednesday, April 30

      Senior Projects due in the Office of the Dean of the College (5:00 P.M.)

 

 

Monday, May 12

      First-Year Seminar Dinner

 

 

Tuesday, May 13

      Advising & Registration for Fall 2008

 

 

Monday, May 19

      Senior Grades due in the Office of the Registrar

 

 

Tuesday, May 20

      Last Day of Classes

 

 

Wednesday, May 21

      Final Faculty Meeting of the Semester

 

 

Thursday, May 22

      Baccalaureate and Senior Dinner

 

 

Saturday, May 24

      Commencement

 

 

Monday, June 2

      Final Grades and Criteria Sheets due in the Office of the Registrar